RITA Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom com set in the drama filled world of telenovelas perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss QuotientLeading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new Leading Lady Plan should be easy enough to follow until a casting shake up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Su rez Leading Ladies don t need a man to be happy After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well Joining this new cast as a last minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents To make it work, he ll need to generate smoking hot on screen chemistry with Jasmine Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind the scenes romance worthy of a soap opera While their on screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton s most closely guarded secret Ummm, sound the alarm, because I m issuing a CUTE ASS ROMANCE ALERT.Alexis Daria brought it with You Had Me at Hola She gave us diversity with intention, she gave us sex positive romance scenes, and she gave characters who had real heart Some of the dialogue was a little cheesy and events were a little much toward the end, but it all tracks with the fact that the whole story is based around a telenovela In fact, it d be weirder if Daria didn t turn the drama up to an 11.And on a scale of one Ummm, sound the alarm, because I m issuing a CUTE ASS ROMANCE ALERT.Alexis Daria brought it with You Had Me at Hola She gave us diversity with intention, she gave us sex positive romance scenes, and she gave characters who had real heart Some of the dialogue was a little cheesy and events were a little much toward the end, but it all tracks with the fact that the whole story is based around a telenovela In fact, it d be weirder if Daria didn t turn the drama up to an 11.And on a scale of one to steamy, this book is approaching I think my head might ve detached from my body and transcended dimensions only to explode levels.I d say that the only true core issue I had was that the romance was a little awkward for the first third of the novel Was it supposed to be enemies to lovers Insta love Something else I m additionally apprehensive at any signs of a love story s stakes being based around very simple miscommunications There were also some sections with quite a bit of telling instead of showing.This one s around 3.5ish stars for me for those reasons GOODREADS HALF STARS PLEASE And I m absolutely reading Alexis Daria s previous books and anything she writes in the future ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.More addictive than if it was a real Netflix show I m not usually a fan of books about famous people, but this was an exception as we focus on the main characters actually doing their jobs rather than just being famous I loved that both characters were unabashedly ambitious and took their work seriously Though the show they were filming was pretty cheesy and definitely cliche at times, I could forgive that due to the wonderful be ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.More addictive than if it was a real Netflix show I m not usually a fan of books about famous people, but this was an exception as we focus on the main characters actually doing their jobs rather than just being famous I loved that both characters were unabashedly ambitious and took their work seriously Though the show they were filming was pretty cheesy and definitely cliche at times, I could forgive that due to the wonderful behind the scenes tension the kissing choreography killed me.The ending somehow dragged while also wrapping up a little bit too quickly But I still highly enjoyed my time with Jasmine and Ashton I am for sure going to dive into Alexis Daria s backlist ASAP 4.5 stars This was an absolute DELIGHT Jasmine and Ashton had SO MUCH chemistry and this book ended up being WAY steamier than I expected it to be in the best way My only real complaint about this one is that the scenes that we got of the actual show were a bit cheesy, but the rest of the book was a 10 10 in my book and I am SO GLAD that I finally read something by Alexis Daria I am 100% going to be working my way through her extensive backlist after how much I enjoyed this So good 4.5 stars This was an absolute DELIGHT Jasmine and Ashton had SO MUCH chemistry and this book ended up being WAY steamier than I expected it to be in the best way My only real complaint about this one is that the scenes that we got of the actual show were a bit cheesy, but the rest of the book was a 10 10 in my book and I am SO GLAD that I finally read something by Alexis Daria I am 100% going to be working my way through her extensive backlist after how much I enjoyed this So good TW stalking in the past Welcome to the glamorous world of telenovelas As a great fan of adapted telenovelas Jane the Virgin , Ugly Betty , I was so excited to get my hands on this book Two rising stars of LatinX community are excited to work on brand new show Carmen in Charge It will help both of them for polishing their careers and finding better places for them in the movie industry We re introduced hot blooded, fiery, genuine, entertaining, straightforward, friendly, social Jasmine who recently moved to NY Welcome to the glamorous world of telenovelas As a great fan of adapted telenovelas Jane the Virgin , Ugly Betty , I was so excited to get my hands on this book Two rising stars of LatinX community are excited to work on brand new show Carmen in Charge It will help both of them for polishing their careers and finding better places for them in the movie industry We re introduced hot blooded, fiery, genuine, entertaining, straightforward, friendly, social Jasmine who recently moved to NY for her new gig, having hard time to prove her family she is good at her work and wish they showrespect to her career, broken hearted by her ending relationship and humiliated by her ex douchebag boyfriend who is also notorious bad boy rock star declared to the public he dumped her via tabloid magazines Yes her situation is worse Than Jen Anniston who is miraculously being pregnant for 10 years according to the tabloids and had secret marriages at least 15 times with Brad Pitt So she needs a clean state, fresh start, concentrating on her career But it seems like it is impossible task when you have so freaking charming co star and sharing so many intimate, hot kissing scenes with him Yes, she starts falling fast and she needs to stop but does she really want to stop And what about Ashton He is not young anyHe needs to focus on his career to realize his Hollywood dreams and getting better leading roles His privacy is so important and nothing should attract the press blood thirsty attention to ruin his big secret He has a 8 year old son lives in Puerto Rico and his one and only priority is being a good father and giving his son a happy life he deserved so he has no time for romance, especially flirting with co stars but why Jasmine is way too much sexy and attractive How will he resist her charm There is too much at stake But he cannot help himself to spendtime with her And they re just working on their lines and they re sharing some secret kisses for the sake of their project Right The most interesting thing about the book of is you read two romantic stories at the same time and I have to admit at some parts I enjoyed telenovela s plotthan the angsty and emotional love story of Jasmine and Ashton s so I looked forward to read the script parts about Victor and Carmen divorced couple, learning from their past mistakes and coming clean about their resentments, secrets , the intimate feelings they still have for each other I never see Ashton s son as a big obstacle for their relationship and the angst part between them were a little unrealistic They may talk with each other like normal adults But the passion and chemistry between them are strengths of the story I also enjoyed girl power parts between cousins and Ashton s family, even his 8 year old son actedmature to his relationship than him I loved those genuine, lovely characters.It was entertaining, soft, sweet reading I got some points because our hero earned so many slapping points from me So I m giving 3.5 stars and eventually I m rounding them up to 4 P.S This book s cover earns 5 stars Look at this amazing illustration Special thanks to NetGalley and Avon Harper Collins Publishers for sharing this entertaining and feel good ARC in exchange my honest review